Keep Asking Questions

Read: Acts 8: 14-40

Keep Asking Questions

S

Acts 8: 34 (NLT) The eunuch asked Philip, “Was Isaiah talking about himself or someone else?”

O

1.    Simon, a sorcerer, asked Peter and John if they would sell him the power to provide the Holy Spirit to others. Simon, being a sorcerer, naturally did not understand. Simon asked Peter and John if they would pray for him.

2.    An angle instructed Philip to go south, where he eventually met the “eunuch of great authority under the queen of Ethiopia”.

3.    The eunuch did not understand what he was reading from Isaiah. First half of Isaiah instructs the nation of Judah to repent, while the second half of the book is filled with hope and the promise of the Messiah.  The eunuch’s question originated from the second half. He must have not understood the first half, but he kept on reading anyway.

4.    The eunuch knew he needed to understand, and asked Philip his question.

A

Based on my current understanding of the bible, what would I ask Philip? “Hey Philip, was God also talking to me in Joshua 1: 5 when He said, “No one will be able to stand their ground against you as long as you live. For I will be with you as I was with Moses. I will not fail you or abandon you.”?

On the other hand, it is easy to identify a person who lacks understanding of the bible if they asked, “Are Christians racist if they believe accepting Christ is the only way to salvation? Regretfully, we seem to hear that question more often today.

The more I study and “SOAP” journal, the more questions I have. My questions always reflect the depth of my understanding.  My questions were simple, when I first started SOAP journaling.  For example, this was not the first time I read Act 8. However this time the eunuch’s question lead me back to Isaiah and to rethink what I would have asked Phillip.  I have learned, “The more you know, the more you know you don’t know”.  I learned, from my limited study the bible, that God wants us to ask Him questions.  To incorporate and modify Ms. Frizzle’s quote from Magic School Bus, I’ve learned we are to, “Take chances, make mistakes, get messy; but no matter what happens, keep asking God questions.”

P

Loving Father. I want to trust You more each day.  I want to study Your word deeper, understand more, and ask You more questions. Lead me to those I need, and to those who need You in me. In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

