Imagine That

Read: Psalm 23: 1-6

S

Psalm 23:4 (NLT) Even when I walk through the dark valley of death, I will not be afraid, for You are close beside me. Your rod and Your staff protect and comfort me.

O

1.    David knew about walking through the valley with the Good Shepard. John 10:11, Jesus is the Good Shepard.

2.    Job too; remember when God pointed Job out to Satan. Job 1:8, “Have you noticed my servant Job?”

3.    Death, and public speaking, frightens us the most. Yet, when threatened by death, the only one we can always truly depend on is Jesus.

4.    Courage is not enough, we need Jesus.

A

“Imagine there’s no heaven, it’s easy if you try. No hell below us, above us only sky. Imagine all the people, living for today.” If there was no heaven, would you still love and follow Jesus? This question came to me recently, and I can’t get it out of my head. Do I follow Jesus because of heaven? Imagine the type of heaven I could earn, who would want it, would you? Yet there are so many who are required to perform certain acts, prayers, and rituals to earn their heaven.

Would I love, follow, and trust Jesus if there was no heaven? Yes I would. Not to belabor this concept, however, if there was no eternal life with Christ, then that would make Him a liar. Was that the thought behind John Lennon’s lyrics, why people seek out mediums, and believe in ghosts? Do we believe what Satan told Eve in Genesis 3: 4-5? It is easy if we try.

When asked why I accepted Christ at age 12, my tear-filled response was that I wanted to go to heaven. As life happened, I grew up to learn that the promise of heaven wasn’t enough, I needed a personal relationship with Christ. It’s what you hang onto in the storms that matters. In case of a water landing, what we hang onto for a flotation device is not as important as the life guard who’s always on duty.

“I’ve seen fire and I’ve seen rain, I’ve seen sunny days that I thought would never end.” I can’t imagine any type of life worth living without Jesus. Imagine life without Christ’s love and forgiveness, it is easy if you try. Imagine that.

P

Loving Father. You asked me a question when I was 12, and again this week. The answer is still yes. I’m Yours for better or for worst. Do with me want You want. In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

