Who Do You Say I Am?

 

Read: Judges 6: 1-17

Who Do You Say I am?

How was Bill Murray’s character like Gideon?

S

Judges 6: 12 (NLT) The angel of the LORD appeared to him and said, “Mighty hero, the LORD is with you.”

O

1.    Gideon, who turned his winepress into a threshing floor to hide from the Midianites, identified himself as “the least in his entire family!”

2.    Gideon went from “Who me?” to “Watch me, and do what I do”, as he lead his remaining 300 men to the camp of the “too many to count” Midianites.

3.    When Gideon’s men blew their horns, the Midianites panicked and fought and killed each other.

A

A study was done with some elementary students.  In the morning they took a test, where the highest performers were called, “the Smart Ones”. The much lower performing students, were called, “the Hard Workers.” As the day progressed the “Smart Ones” chose mediocre and easy tasks to perform, in order to retain their title as “the Smart Ones”.  Whereas, the “Hard workers” chose the more challenging tasks to perform.  At the end of the day, both groups retook the same test.  The “Hard Workers” scored at least 45% higher than the “Smart Ones”, while the “Smart Ones” scored much lower than they did that morning.

How others define us, is not as important as how God defines us. Gideon was not confident in what God asked him to do. He needed a sign and assurance from God. Later on Gideon became the “Mighty hero”, which God had defined him before asked to save Israel.

When the “world” informed me that I had nothing to offer; I believed them for a long time. Then God reminded me that I worked for Him, that I was courageous and fearless in His name, and that I was His. Christ is the Messiah, the Son of God, and my Savior.  When I start to believe how others define me; I just need to pray and ask God, “Who do You say I am?”

P

Loving Father. I remember in Mat. 16:15, You asked Your disciples, “Who do you say I am?” Like Peter, I know that You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God. When I start to believe what the enemy says about me, help me to remember who You say I am.  Who can stand against me, while You are for me? LORD, show Yourself in me, so that others will see only You, and want more of You. I know who I am in You. Do whatever You want with me.  In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

