Majestic Trees?

Read: Joshua 1: 1-9
bob-ross
Majestic Trees?

S

Joshua 1: 9 (ESV) “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

O

1.    It seems that every scripture I read, and God urges me to SOAP on, contains His message of, “Don’t be afraid or worry, and trust Him”. Perhaps after 365 times of stating in the bible, “Don’t be afraid”, I’d finally get a clue.

2.    Joshua, son of Nun, continued God’s commission to Moses, and was about to cross over Jordan to the promise land.

3.    Five books of Moses predicted the fulfilment of God’s promise to Abraham. After many military victories under Joshua, it was obvious that God fights for His people when they are courageous and place their full weight and trust in Him.

A

During one of my many sleepless nights, due to worry and fear, I turned on the TV where immediately I saw Bob Ross painting a beautiful mountain vista and happy clouds. I so enjoyed watching him paint, and listening to his calm and reassuring voice as he described his beautiful mountain scene. Watching and listening to him, I became enthralled by the beauty of his painting and the calming tenor of his voice.

Then, for no logical reason, the master artist took a black paintbrush and made a black streak right down the most beautiful part of his painting. I thought, “Bob, you just ruined it”.  Then it occurred to me, as I saw him transform the black streak into a majestic tree, that God was my master artist. Where God had created the black streak down the middle of my life, He created in me a strength and courage I had never seen before. Causing me to reflect, “Did I want my best, or God’s best for my life?”

When I lost my job, God never left my side.  When I thought my life was at its end, He was there to tell me, “Mark, I’m not done yet”.  For every “mistake” made, He remained true, loving, forgiving, and faithful. He took the worst situations in my life, and turned them into His majestic trees.

P

Loving Father. When I accepted You as my LORD and Savior, You promised to never leave or forsake me, and You haven’t. Please grow and strengthen those who have lost their jobs, loved ones, or are enduring desperate financial times. Help them to understand that You are just simply, painting Your majestic tree down the center of their lives.  In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

