Missed Opportunities

last-supperRead: Proverbs 9: 1-6
Missed Opportunities

S

Proverbs 9: 2 (NLT) She has prepared a great banquet, mixed the wines, and set the table.

O

1.    Solomon referred to Wisdom as a woman of character appealing to the mind.  Folly as a prostitute appealing to temporary pleasures.

2.    Jesus’ parable in Luke 14, reminds of God’s declined invitation to the great feast, His convenient with Israel.

3.    Solomon’s dad, David, wrote in Psalms 23 about how God had prepared a table for us in the presence of those who declined His invitation. All we need is Him.

A

“For all sad words of tongue and pen. The saddest are these, It might have been.” – John Greenleaf Whittier.  Missed opportunities haunt me, the greatest joys I forfeited are priceless to me now. Like the countless invitations from my Father, to spend time with Him in prayer and in His word.

What would I give now, for my children to run and throw their arms around me? To toss them into the air once more. To hear them laugh, “Do it again daddy”. I will never forget those times my children climbed into my lap with a book. Those unforgettable times cherished so much, yet memory escapes me of what was so important on TV that I declined my son’s request to play ball.  Missed opportunities haunt me.

Missed opportunities that will never come again. There is a certain wisdom evident to me now from Harry Chapin’s song, “Cats In The Cradle”. Like our earthly father, our heavenly Father just wants some time with us.  He asks, never demands.  Typically those years after high school, we become too busy for our Father. Unlike the song, our Father has never been too busy for us, and will always invite us to be with Him. He asks us to work and play with Him, not for the value of our work, but due to the value He places on us.

No sadder words are those “It might have been”.  I look back on my life at the missed opportunities my Father invited me to spend time with Him, and the times I was too busy. Thank God for the times I said yes. God never missed an opportunity to offer me His piece, His contentment, and His unconditional love.

P

Loving Father. Yes, I gladly accept Your gracious invitation to Your great feast. Grant me the wisdom Solomon spoke of. Help me hold Your 23rd Psalm in my heart. Help me to hold Your word in my heart forever. I want You, the rest is dust. Lead me to those who need You in me. In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

