I’ve Fallen and Can’t Get Up

Read: Psalm 42:1-11
depressionI’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up

S

Psalm 42:5 (NLT) “Why am I discouraged? Why so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again – my Savior and my God!

O

1.    David, a man after God’s own heart, was depressed.  David fled for his life when his son Absolom tried to kill him and take over. David’s wife was assaulted, his daughter raped, children killed, and there was that Bathsheba incident. Then he wrote Psalm 42.

2.    David felt spiritually dried up and thirsted for God.

3.    David couldn’t stop crying, was overwhelmed, and had lingering memories of good days which he felt are gone forever.

4.    He knew of God’s unfailing love but twice mentioned how his enemies mocked him, asking him where his God was.

5.    All David had left, was his hope in God.

A

There are only two places that are without hope. Heaven, because you will have fulfillment, and hell where there is eternal separation from God and our loved ones.

How can I lose hope? God has so generously poured His love out on me, yet for months I have felt sad. I have had times when I felt like crying for no reason. I have seen monsters that were not there, and didn’t feel like doing anything. I felt overwhelmed by my enemy’s little skirmishes against me. I lost interest is the one thing which brought me the most joy, studying God’s word and my SOAPs. Finally, I went to the doctor who told me of my depression.

The TV commercial of the lady who fell down and quoted that now famous line, “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up”, I once mocked, now resounded in my head.  Although she had a button to press to get help, I had no button.  Or so I thought.  One morning I pushed the button on my DVR and watch an old broadcast of Adrian Rogers who spoke of depression. He drew my attention back to David. He reminded me of John the Baptist when he, in his depression, doubted if Jesus was the Messiah. I am feeling better now. I have fallen and I don’t have to stay down, as long as I still look up.

P

Loving Father.  You love me so much, You can’t take Your eyes off of me. In Jeremiah 29: 11, You told me that You only have good plans for me, not destruction. You gave me a future, a hope, and promise of eternal life with You. I am still Yours, do with me what You want.   In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

