Skirmishes

Read: Hebrews 10:32-39
spartan-under-attackSkirmishes

S

Hebrews 10:35 (NLT) Do not throw away this confident trust in the LORD, no matter what happens. Remember the great reward it brings you!

O

1.    The first part of Hebrews, the author(s) emphasized how God was superior to angles, to leaders, to priests, and that Christianity surpasses Judaism due to God’s “upgraded” covenant through the sacrifice of His Son Christ.

2.    Now the author was encouraging the Hebrew Christians in the midst of their terrible sufferings.  They were to accept suffering with joy and to remember what is waiting for them for all eternity.

3.    We are to maintain our confidence in Christ when “storms capsize our lives” or when our enemy’s little battle skirmishes are waged against us.

A

Life’s little skirmishes can diminish the confidence I have in myself, as well as in God.  That was satan’s whole idea when he attacked Job, wasn’t it?  Thinking of Job, makes my little skirmishes seem rather petty. Never the less, they are real to me, or at least seem real.  Inevitably, I later discovered the problems which caused my suffering, were not really that big after all.  Many times it turned out to be just a false alarm.

These past few weeks I have endured these little skirmishes from the enemy.  Much like thunders storms with no lightning.  Loud noise, no flash, however, I let them cause a power loss in me.  These little skirmishes were not enough to capsize me, just enough to cause me to reflect on my old battle scars and lose confidence.  I focused on my past, and forgot about the battle scars Christ already suffered for me.

God sent one of His servants to aid me in a skirmish this week.  Not entirely familiar with all my past battle scars; she just encouraged me not to stress, to trust her, and that God was with us.  In my daily scriptures from dailyprayer@christ-fit.org this week, I received on Thursday: Rom. 15:7, Friday: Rom. 5:3-4, and Saturday: Hebrews 10: 35-36.  They all addressed suffering, perseverance, hope, and that God was with me.

It would seem that God has been working with me on my “confidence in Him” lately.  It really doesn’t matter how much I can trust others, as long as I trust Him.  Whether the skirmish is real or an illusion, I am to take everything to Him in prayer and maintain my confidence in the Creator of… everything.

P

Loving Father.  You are omniscient, I haven’t a clue. It is obvious that trusting You is all I need to do. Do with me what You want.  In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

