What Do I Say?

Read: Matthew 10:16-31

get out of jail free cardWhat Do I Say?

S

Matthew 10:19 (NLT) When you are arrested, don’t worry about what to say in your defense, because you will be given the right words at the right time.

O

1.    Jesus was giving instructions/warnings to His disciples, and sending them to teach others what He taught them.

2.    Jesus said “When you are arrested” and that they “will be beaten in the synagogues”.

3.    Years later James reiterates, to First-century Jewish Christians, what Jesus told him (James 1:1-4), “whenever troubles comes, let it be an opportunity for joy”.

4.    Paul tells the Christians in Rome (Rom. 8:28) that God will cause everything to work together for the good of those who love and work for Him.

A

A football coach sent his quarterback into the roughest game of the season. He told him that the opposing team would be disguised to look like his teammates, appear bigger than they were, restore prejudice and division, and make him doubt his coach. The coach told his beloved quarterback, that the referees would constantly remind him of his failures. Then as the quarterback’s fans begged him to quit, the head coach told him, “Don’t worry or be afraid. I will tell you what to say”. This is what Jesus tells His disciples to do every day.

Typically, when I have been pounded by the enemy; the last thing on my mind was to say what Jesus told me to say. Once I begged Him to remove me from the game. Then there were times when a calmness enveloped me to provide a moment of clarity. As I was reading The Upper Room one day, I asked God if He wanted me to submit a devotional. Then I turned the page which read, “Want to submit your own devotional?”

The words came easily and then on May 28th, 2001, “The Best Year Yet” was published in The Upper Room. When my dad was deathly ill, once again the words came easily. Then on Jan. 8th, 2011, “See You at Home” was published, weeks before his death. (Link to devotionals)

It is hard to stand firm on the deck of a sinking ship, and not be afraid. I’ve failed more than succeeded. God always saw me though, and gave me testimonies which began with a more Christ centered prayer, “LORD, what do I say?”

P

Loving Father.  Help me to always keep my eyes on You. Give me the words to speak and wisdom to act.  Finish the good work You started in me.  Do with me whatever You want.  In Your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

