The Ride of Your Life

Wings of eaglesRead: Isaiah 40:1-31

S

Isaiah 40: 31 (NLT) “But those who wait on the LORD will find new strength. They will fly high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

O

1.    First 39 chapters, Isaiah proclaimed scathing verdicts of God’s judgment on Judah, Israel and surrounding nations due to their sin. In short, repent or die.

2.    Chapter 40, Isaiah now offers words of comfort, to “Shout!” His praises, life is temporary, and God is coming to rule with His awesome strength. To compare false idols, which need a stand or they will fall over, to the one true God. Consider the One who created the stars.

3.    First, wait on the LORD. If so, then you will be given new strength, experience the greatest high, run forever, and never waver in your walk with Him.

A

What does it mean to “wait”? I once waited on customers at Pizza Hut. Imagine, if I decided to bring them my favorite pizza instead. Imagine if I waited on my customers like I was doing them some giant favor. What if I decided to bring them their pizza when I was ready? Then after all of this, I expected praise for my sacrifice?

As an inexperienced Christian, did I expect God to wait on me? He asked me to do His work, but I decided to do what I wanted instead, or do His work when I thought I was ready. I decided that His work took me out of my comfort zone too much. Then I complained when He didn’t bless me. Sounds absurd, however how often have I done this?

I have found more joy, soared to the greatest heights, in these little SOAPs. It never mattered if I were tired, my mind would race as a particular scripture stuck in my heart so much that I can barely sit down. As my relationship with Him strengthened though these little SOAPs, my walk with Him was less likely to waiver. Why didn’t I start “SOAPing” earlier? Over these past years, there have been so many times when a thought suddenly, out of the blue, appeared in my head. God said “wait”, as a servant waits. When we do, hold on for the ride of your life.

P

Loving Father. When I waited upon You, You renewed my strength, You filled my heart so much that I soared above the eagles. You placed in me an indescribable passion that I never thought possible. Help me to be more patient and wait upon You. In Your name I pray. Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ride of Your Life

  1. Alma Shireman says:

    Thanks for sharing. I’ve been focussing on being a better servant and your insight struck a chord with me this morning!

    • markebrewer says:

      God is so incredible. His timing is perfect. He knows just what to say and when to say it. It feels great and humbling when God lets you know, that He could use you to communicate to others. Thanks for letting me know the words He gave me struck a chord. God bless. Give everyone my love.

Leave a Reply

