Homesick

The Prodical son by RimbrantRead: Psalm 38:1-22

S

Psalm 38:4 (NLT) “My guilt overwhelms me, it is a burden too heavy to bear.”

O

1.    Psalm 38 is a prayer. David’s sin caused him to be consumed with guilt, so much that he was emotionally and physically sick.

2.    David acknowledges God’s discipline and that loved ones stayed away from him.

3.    David remains quiet while his enemies plot and make threats. Like Jesus before his accusers in Luke 23:9.

4.    David was truly sorry and felt alone like God had abandoned him.

5.    Mat. 27:45 Christ on the cross cried out, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” As Christ was paying for our sins, did this statement reflect the feeling the separation from God caused by our sins?

A

In my second week of college, I experienced the worst feeling I have ever felt in my life. I was emotionally and physically homesick. As I read David’s prayer, trying to understand how overwhelmed he must have felt, it was this memory which came to mind. For me, it was just the next step to adulthood. For David, it was like a “homesick” separation caused by his sin.

Would I have been overwhelmed with homesickness, if my relationship with my parents were poor? I was separated from the most important relationships in my life. David’s sin moved him away from a personal loving relationship with God.   David, “a man after God’s own heart”, was experiencing God’s disciplinary consequence to his sin.

When God disciplines us He is saying, “If I didn’t care about you, I would just let you run.” and “This is going to hurt me more than hurt you.” Interesting, that was what my dad use to say too. God first shines His light on our sin so that we can see it, that’s called guilt. As believers, and study His word, we learned and accepted the sacrifice Christ felt when He died for our sins. Perhaps the extreme “homesickness” David felt, was God’s warning of what life would be like if separated from Him for all eternity.

Whenever overwhelmed with life here on earth is in reality, homesickness. All I know is I am not home yet.

P

Loving Father. When You cried out from the cross, “Why have You deserted Me?” were You letting us know that You too felt the pain of separation caused by our sin? It did hurt You more than me. Until I get home, I will continue to call You. When life gets tough and I feel out of place, help me to remember that it is just homesickness. In Your name I pray. Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

