Perhaps Today

fig newton cookiesRead: Matthew 21:1-22

S

Matthew 21:19 (NLT) and he noticed a fig tree beside the road. He went over to see if there were figs on it, but there were only leaves. Then he said to it, “May you never bear fruit again!” And immediately the fig tree withered up.

O

1.    On Jesus’ travels, He borrowed a donkey to ride, He “redirected jackasses” perverting His temple, healed the blind and lame while at that temple, and then “fired” a leafy fruitless tree when He needed food.

2.    He instructed His disciples that if they had faith, didn’t doubt, and believed, that they too would receive what they requested in prayer. Jesus did not say, “I’m really Santa Clause”. Where would be the faith in that?

3.    Jesus was on His mission, removed what was not bearing fruit, and blessed those who had faith and believed in Him.

A

Leaves are so important and amazing. They take our carbon dioxide, and light and water from God, and in return give us food and oxygen. It is a shame, however, when a plant just takes in what God gives it and returns nothing. Plants, like us, have a purpose according to His plan. God prunes His trees so that they can grow and produce more fruit. He provides the light in which there is no amount of darkness which will ever blot it out.

Ironically, I once read, “Faith, like film, is developed in the dark.” When immersed in the darkness of the world, I still struggle to remember to trust and believe in Him. He will tell me what to write, say, and do just at the right time. Still, I have difficulty with my faith when I can’t see, and my trust when I have no control. Each day offers incredible opportunities for me to grow.

So, perhaps today I’ll read my bible. Perhaps today I’ll do something that will direct more people toward Christ. Perhaps today I’ll share God’s love with His enemies. Perhaps today I’ll pray on my knees, ask for guidance, forgiveness, and mean it. Perhaps today I’ll learn more about my neighbor. Perhaps today I’ll not listen to Satan’s lies. Perhaps today I’ll renew my trust and acceptance in God. Perhaps today He’ll call on me.

P

Loving Father. You created all life and light. I don’t ask for a sign or a feeling, just grow me to bear more fruit. LORD use me like a pen, and write Your message on other’s hearts. It is all about You. Do with me what You want. In Your name I pray. Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

