Price Check

price checkRead: Matthew 13: 1-58

S

Matthew 13: 44 (ESV) The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

O

1.    There are four pairs of parables in Mat. 13, Sower (v3) and Tares (v24); Mustard seed (v31) and Leaven (v33); Treasure (v44) and Pearl (v45); and fourth Dragnet (v47) and Storehouse (v52).

2.    The field is the world, the treasure Israel, and the joy from God’s sacrifice so that we could truly be His. The treasure was buried. The owner will return to claim His treasure.

3.    Jesus taught these parables, to a crowd, from a boat. With these two parables, Jesus explained how there was nothing more valuable than the Kingdom of Heaven.

4.    In Mat. 19:16 Jesus asked a rich young man to sell everything and follow Him. Regretfully, he “overpriced” his current treasures and did not recognize the true treasure which stood before him. With his question to Jesus, “What good things must I do…?” he wanted to earn the Kingdom.

A

In Max Lucado’s book, No Wonder They Call Him the Savior, he mentions a time when burglars broke into a store, not to steal anything but to change the prices on the merchandise. Some received great deals while others were cheated. The remarkable thing was, no one noticed that the prices had been switched for a long time. It is interesting that I too have mispriced God’s gifts, grace, and cheated myself.

When I read these two parables, and about the rich young man, I understood it to mean that I was to first and foremost seek His Kingdom, which is true. However this time, as though the coin was flipped, I read about how valuable I was to God and realized the low price I have placed on myself.

Satan reminds me daily of my failures and mistakes. He lies to me about how a few failures, or successes, define who I am. I am nothing but a Child of the Living God, who sacrificed His Son so that I could truly be His. Reading His Word daily enables me to do a “Price Check” on my value to Him, and His value to me. No wonder they call Him the Savior.

P

Loving Father. Your Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path. Help me to study and understand Your Word daily. Forgive me when I reprice Your creations and sell myself short. In Your name I pray. Amen.

 

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

