Gone Fishin

(S: Scripture)Gone Fishin
Read: 1 Peter 5:1-10
1 Peter 5: 8 (NLT) Be careful! Watch out for attacks from the Devil, your great enemy. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for some victim to devour.

(O: Observations)

  1. When you serve and follow God, Peter warned that the Devil will certainly attack without warning. Hence Peter’s advice, to serve God willingly for His honor and not ours, to serve with humility “under the mighty power of God”, and turn all our worries over to Him.
  2. Peter was advising the leaders and the young workers of the church.
  3. Lions are patient and silent when they attack the weak, tired, and those who, due to their arrogance, have separated themselves from His church.

(A: Application)
Is there is a place with caring people, fishing holes, and where things slow down enough to realize what truly matters? One of my favorite episodes of the Andy Griffith Show, was an episode entitled, “Man in a Hurry”. It was a story of a successful businessman who became trapped in Mayberry on a Sunday when his car broke down. Although quickly annoyed by the slow paced lifestyle, he later succumbed to the peaceful caring nature of the people. How wonderful it would be to find a place, where I can slow down enough to remember that there is, “No spot is so dear to my childhood, as the little brown church in the vale”.

My little brown church in the Wildwood was Jefferson, Indiana; the place where I first accepted Christ. A small country church with people who prized Sunday as a time for worship and fellowship and not a time to sleep in.

How easy it is to get swept away by life and the need to be important. When I get frustrated and overwhelmed at work, these are the times I need to slow down, let God be God, and trust Him for all my energy and guidance. To trust Him for my talent and opportunities to serve Him when and where He calls me.

Before I break down outside Mayberry, I need to hit the pause button, reflect back to that little brown Jefferson church, and remember why I accepted Christ in the first place. Like Peter the fisherman of men, I need to put out my sign each day which reads, “Gone Fishin”.

(P: Prayer)
Loving Father. Help me not to worry, but to trust You and slow down so that I may humbly serve You under Your power, not mine. Protect me from the evil one and his strong delusions. In Your name I pray. Amen.

 

 

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

