The Right Time

(S: Scripture)right time
Proverbs 15:23 (NLT) Everyone enjoys a fitting reply; it is wonderful to say the right thing at the right time!

(O: Observations)

  1. Proverbs was written in a “parental” tone. Solomon, inspired and counseled by God, was counseling the “counselors”. Counselors, those called by God, encourage, support, listen, and comfort others through His strength, words, and wisdom.
  2. The verse preceding this one establishes the importance of counsel.
  3. Proverbs 15:1 A gentle answer turns away wrath, but harsh words stir up anger.
  4. Proverbs 25:11 Timely advice is as lovely as gold apples in a silver basket.

(A: Application)
Have you received a call, text, email, letter, card, or just a smile with a kind word which changed your day? Just the right word at just the right time? For me it came one morning in my daily “auto-emailed” scripture from http://christ-fit.org/htu.cfm , Proverbs 15:23. My mind and heart blocked by life’s thunderstorms lately, I felt out of touch with Him and wondered if others could still see Him in me. He knew what to say, when to say it, and how to say it to clear my head enough to recognize His presence and the work He began in me.

A couple years ago, I had the privilege to volunteer to serve on our annual “Prayer Blitz” team. I was just one of many, who called members to ask if there was anything we could pray with them about. I was about to hang up once, when the lady answered. As soon as I explained the reason for the call, she broke down, told me she had just been praying, and felt so discouraged. As I listened, I prayed, “God I have no idea what to say, help!” Then the words from me came from God. Like Peter walking on the water, I too knew it was all Him.

Have you ever wondered when you were at the lowest time in your life, how someone “just happened” to say the right thing? They said something that at first seemed incidental, but shortly thereafter became undeniable that God spoke to you through them. A warm calmness enveloped you, tears of recognition kindled, as you realized that God just reminded you that He still loved you, He was still with you, and there was nothing you could do about it. Who else but God would know just what to say at the right time?

(P: Prayer)
Loving Father. You are in control and nothing happens without Your permission. Lead me to those I need and those who need You in me. In Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

