Stand Firm and Still?

(Scripture) Read: 2 Chronicles 20: 1-37True-Grit1969
2 Chr. 20:17 (NLT) But you will not even need to fight. Take your positions; then stand still and watch the LORD’s victory. He is with you, O people of Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid or discouraged. Go out there tomorrow, for the LORD is with you!

(Observations)

  • King Jehoshaphat stood before his people and prayed. He:
    1. Acknowledged God’s sovereignty as Ruler, powerful, mighty, and no one could stand against Him.
    2. Listed how God has been with them through war, disease, and famine.
    3. Described their current situation, requested God’s help, and admitted they couldn’t do it.
  • The LORD instructed the people, through a man, not to be afraid and follow His directions.
  • The people of Judah and Jerusalem stood still and watched their three enemy armies kill each other

(Application)
True Grit with John Wayne, is one of my favorite movies. My favorite part is when the Marshall faces four evil men and confidently informs them of what he was about to do. Which they replied, “That’s bold talk for a one-eyed fat man”. Then he delivers that unvarnished line, “Fill your hands you son of a bitch!” as he places his rains in his mouth, guns in his hands, and charges the enemy. He was on the side of good and nothing on earth was going to stop him.

Surrender to God and not your enemy, Jehoshaphat would say. Prior to this event, Jehoshaphat followed God’s direction, charged against His enemies like John Wayne, and was victorious. However, this time God instructed him to take his position, stand still, and watch God do His work. The hardest thing to do when faced with problems or your enemy, is to have faith, not fear, and not to charge in like John Wayne.

Recently, I imagined myself in the full armor of God, and like John Wayne placing the rains in my mouth and guns in my hands, charging into battle. However, this time I get to the battlefield and found Jesus with my enemies scattered at His feet. Apparently Jesus got there before me and started without me. God has never left His throne, He is still in charge, and He has already defeated the enemy. Stand firm, be still, and let God be God.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. You are supreme and nothing can stand against You. I surrender to You, not the enemy. I need You. I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which You have called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. (Phil 3:14) Make me courageous in Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

