Blank Check

(Scripture)Read:1 Chronicles 4:9-10Blank check
1 Chronicles 4:10 (NKJV) And Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, “Oh, that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and that You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!” So God granted him what he requested.

(Observations)
1. Jabez, whose name in Hebrew means “he makes sorrowful”, demonstrated greater character than his brothers.
2. Four parts to his prayer: Give me more of whatever You want. So that I may do more work for You.  I’ll need Your supernatural guidance, strength, and protection.  Keep Satan away from me so that I may not lose my testimony and
cause others turn from You.
3. God answered yes to his request.

(Application)
The book The Prayer of Jebez by Bruce Wilkinson, has provided me and others enjoyment and inspiration. Bruce exemplified “Study less more” by digging deeper, as if for a diamond, into His Word.

Imagine giving God your life as a blank check, and for Him to fill in any amount He wanted. To trust Him to fill your account, so that whatever amount He writes is covered. To trust Him to send this check, your life, to wherever He wants to do more good. Finally, ask God to keep the thief from hacking, or putting a freeze on your account, which He filled in the first place.

Many years ago a thief applied for a credit card in my name. Prior to accepting the credit card application, the company’s fraud department called me out of suspicion. Naturally, I instructed them not to grant it, promptly called my attorney and credit bureaus, and filed a police report. However, it wasn’t until two years later, when denied a home refinance, I learned that the credit card company went ahead and granted that application anyway. God’s blessings of a house, car, and supporting a family were threatened.

It is so important to protect our account with God. Satan is the thief that will attack and confuse us, especially when we provide God with a blank check to our lives.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Help me to dig deeper into Your Word so that I’ll know You more. LORD, bless me however You want. Father, I ask too for Your guidance, strength, wisdom, and protection from evil as I do more of Your work. Do with me what You want. In Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

