What Do You Want?

(Scripture) John 1: 29-50chair
John 1: 38 (NLT) Jesus looked around and saw them following. “What do you want?” He asked them. They replied “Rabbi, where are you staying?”

(Observations)

  • John the Baptist made it clear that he was to “Prepare a straight pathway for the LORD’s coming”. (Jn 1: 23)
  • When Jesus walked by John and two of his disciples, John said, “Look! There is the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!” (Jn 1:29) These men knew that Jesus was the “Lamb of God”, hence easy to see why they left John to follow Jesus. It was also what John wanted them to do.
  • Jesus turned around and asked a simple question which directed their thoughts to the true reason why they followed Him.
  • Two of John’s disciples, John (son of Zebedee and later author of this book) and Andrew, later became Jesus’ first two disciples. Not only did John “prepare a pathway”, he also prepared two men to follow the Messiah.

(Application)
What do I want when I follow Christ? Nice clothes, house, car, or a perfect job? Do I want Him to bless me as I do what makes me happy? Do I want the prestige of following Him? I recall a woman who had been bleeding for years. She followed Jesus, touch His garment, and was healed. (Luke 8:44) Perhaps one reason I have followed Christ, has been that I’ve learned that once the storms have come and gone, all that remained and really mattered was Him?

When I was a child, I followed my big brother Paul around at times. The reason was I wanted to be with him and do what he was doing. Perhaps that was the same reason I started to follow Jesus, I just wanted to be with Him and do what He was doing

Through this scripture, God asked me what I wanted. A question that has caused me to dig deep. Then I recalled in 1 Kings 3:5, God asked Solomon, “What do you want? The mother of James and John, Jesus’ Aunt, came to Jesus and He asked her, “What do you want?” (Mat. 20:21) Jesus asked the blind man in Mark 10:51 the same thing. God asks the best questions at the most perfect times in our lives. “What else do you want?”

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Thank You for Your perfect questions at the best times in my life. LORD, what do You want me to do for You? In Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

