Sitting by the Fire

(Scripture) Luke 12: 35-59
Luke 12:48 (NLT) “But people who are not aware that they are doing wrong will be punished only lightly. Much is required from those to whom much is given, and much more is required from those to whom much more is given.

(Observations)

  1. Jesus was telling His disciples how to prepare for His coming. In short, always be prepared.
  2. Jesus used an analogy of a master returning from the wedding feast and a bugler to illustrate His point. Jesus told them how to live and how not to live.
  3. Peter asked if this lesson was for them or everyone. Jesus replied that His lesson was for any faithful sensible servant whom the master has given responsibility too.
  4. Later, Jesus uses the parables of the king of ten servants (Luke 18: 11-27) and the ten bridesmaids (Matthew 25: 1-13) to support the message of always be prepared and use our talents. 

(Application)
There was a poem I heard once which applies to what this scripture has said to me. “He wasn’t much about a stirring about, it wasn’t his desire. While others were building the church, he was sitting by the fire. Same story day by day he never seemed to tire. No matter what the others did, he was sitting by the fire. At last he died as all must do. Some say he went higher. But if he is doing what he use to do, he is sitting by the fire.”

There is a fire in me that I can’t contain or control. My “Walk to Emmaus” weekend back in 2002 was my revival that continues in me today. God fills me so much with His love, that I feel like I am going to explode sometimes.

They will never ask me to sing in the choir. Singing is not my talent. However, I sing as if Jesus were next to me in church, because He is. (Mat. 18:20)”For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them.”

No one knows the moment of His return. Could be in 100 years or right now. I remember what Moses and Peter said while they stood next to a fire, and how God could still use them. No matter when He comes, God will not find me sitting by the fire.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Bless me indeed. Enlarge my responsibility for You. Provide Your hand of strength, wisdom, and grace. Keep me from evil. Set Your fire down in my soul. God use me and these SOAPs to advance Your church. In Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

