Fully Alive

(Scripture) John 14:15-30Emmaus 77
John 14: 27 (NLT) I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give isn’t like the peace the world gives. So don’t be troubled or afraid.

(Observations)

  1. John wrote about Jesus’ promise of the Holy Spirit. The Counselor who will lead us to all truth and will never leave us. So don’t be afraid.
  2. John stated that the world will not look for Him.
  3. Phl 4:7 (NLT) If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.
  4. Jeremiah 17:8 (NLT) “But blessed are those who trust in the LORD and have made the LORD their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along the riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit.”

(Application)
There was a boy who was fascinated by his grandfather’s watch and took it to the barn to admire it. While playing, he lost the watch in the hay. After his frantic search, he worried about the consequences of his disobedience and the disappointment from the man whom he loved. Then he remembered that his grandfather taught him that no matter what trouble he was in, that he could always find piece in prayer. So the boy fell to his knees in prayer. As he waited in silence for God’s response, he could hear the barn swallows, the barn swallowgroaning of the strong beams, the gentle whistle of the wind through the barn, and the ticking of a watch.

Be still and know that He is God. Like the little boy, I have found myself franticly searching for a way through my troubles. I have found instead a peace which can only come from God. His peace has enveloped me like a warm blanket in my storms. I am fully alive when it is just God and me. My power comes from Him, on my knees, in His word, SOAP journaling, and working a Walk to Emmaus.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Thank You for filling me with Your breath of life. Thank you for being at my center. You are my Creator and Almighty Counselor. Help me to be still, quiet, and listen to You in all times. Guide me with Your word. Do with me what You want. I am Yours. Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

