What Am I Missing?

eye exam comic(Scripture) Mark 8:1-21
Mark 8: 18 (NLT) “You have eyes – can’t you see? You have ears – can’t you hear? Don’t you remember anything at all?

(Observations)

  1. Mk 8:1-10 Jesus feeds 5000 with five loaves of bread and has leftovers.
  2. Mk 8: 11-13 Pharisees asked Jesus for a miraculous sign to prove He was from God.
  3. Mk 8: 14-21 Jesus’ Disciples, after witnessing all His’ miracles, worry about having enough to eat. Jesus reminded His Disciples that He will not only meet their needs, but exceed them.
  4. “Remember” Ps 37: 3, Trust in the LORD and do good. Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. 

(Application)
Thousands of people followed and trusted Jesus. He not only met their needs, but gave them leftovers; is it that simple? What am I missing? Disciples of Jesus knew Him personally, saw Him heal the crippled and feed thousands with a kid’s lunch, heard His message of love and grace afforded everyone, and then worried about where their next meal was coming from; is that correct? What am I missing? For years I have known God personally, have witnessed His miracles, experienced His incredible merciful love when I deserved the reverse, and when I was at the end of my rope He not only met my needs but exceeded them as well. Yet after years of witnessing God’s work in my life, I still found myself worrying if my needs would be met. What am I missing?

When I was younger I wanted signs, like the Pharisees, to convince me that Christ was the answer. I accepted Him as my LORD, grew to know Him more, and became His Disciple. It wasn’t until I truly lost myself in His Word, SOAP journal, and prayed regularly, when it became progressively easier for me not to worry. I learned that there was a difference between going to church and truly following Him.

I still have my bouts of worry. However, I find myself automatically remembering His fingerprints on my life, praising Him in song, praying, trusting Him, and studying His Word. What am I missing now?

(Prayer)
Loving Father. I want to know You personally. The more I study science, the more I see You. Whether it is the complexity of a single protein molecule or the simplicity of Your unconditional love and grace; I see Your work. Give me the eyes to see, the ears to hear, the heart to love, and Your hands to serve. Do with me what you want, I am Yours. In Your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

