Right from Left, or Goats in Sheep’s Clothing.

(Scriptures)Mt 25.40
Matthew 6:3 (NLT) But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing.
Matthew 25:40 (NLT) And the King will tell them, “I assure you, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!”

(Observations)

  1. In Mt. 6:1, Jesus used the term “hypocrites” to describe those who gave with selfish intent.
  2. We are to separate our pure intent to serve God from our selfish hypocritical intent; as far as our right is from our left.
  3. (Mt. 25:32) God will separate the sheep, the righteous, from the goats, the cursed. The sheep in His right hand and the goats as far away in His left.
  4. According to Jesus, both the righteous and the cursed will ask, “When did we ever see…?”
  5. The righteous “did it” innately, while the cursed “refused” to act.

(Applications)
It is easier to do what is right when others are watching. Do I do things for His glory or my own? This scripture has caused me to reflect deeply the week. I couldn’t stop thinking about the connection between Mt. 6:3 and Mt. 25:37.

Many years ago, Ray Boltz sang a song called, “Thank you”. The song was about a man who, when he arrived in heaven, met those who he unknowing impacted. Some of the lyrics are as follows:
“One by one they came far as the eye could see. Each life somehow touched by your generosity. Little things that you had done, sacrifices made, unnoticed on earth, in heaven now proclaimed.”

Perhaps that was what Jesus was speaking about when He said that the righteous will ask, “When did we ever see…?” Clearly, they didn’t let their left hand know what their right hand was doing.

On the other hand, how terrible it has been for those I left in the wake of my selfishness. A child, a friend, or a stranger who now thinks that all Christians are hypocrites. Whether, in the wake of my selfishness or in the wake of my Christ like love, the enduring impact of my actions are as diverse as the right is from the left. 

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Please forgive me when I behave like a goat in sheep’s clothing. Restore me LORD, so that my intentions will be pure and pleasing to you. Your righteousness is ever lasting. LORD, help me. In your name I pray. Amen. 

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

