Who Do You Say I am?

(Scripture)
Matthew 16:15 (NLT) Then He asked them, “Who do you say I am?”

(Observations)

  1. Jesus first asked His disciples who the people of Caesarea Philippi say the Son of Man is.
  2. The people at Caesarea Philippi were influenced by Greek and Roman culture and pagan temples and idols were everywhere. Hence, most likely did not know much about the “Son of Man”.
  3. So, Jesus asked those who knew him best, His disciples, who they thought He was.
  4. Only Simon Peter spoke up to identify Jesus as the Messiah and the Son of God.
  5. Simon Peter got a name change and was identified as the rock to build His church.

(Application)
There is an old story of a battleship Captain who was commanding his ship through the foglighthouse when they came upon a light on a collision course with them. He radioed ahead to tell them that he was an important Captain and that they should change their course. The Captain received a message back stating that he must change his course. The indignant Captain then demanded that they change their course because he was a battleship. Their replay to the Captain was, “you better change your course I am a lighthouse”.

No matter what others will say, God is who He says He is. Satan will fog things up to confuse us. When I think I am in charge of my course, I find I am headed for the rocks. However, as my relationship with God improves, I am better able to spot and know Him in the storms, fog, or just when I am standing safely on the shore. He already radioed ahead in the form of Jesus, the light of the world.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. I believe that Jesus is the Messiah and the Son of God. Please always give me the strength and courage to publicly answer as Peter did. You are my personal Savior, my Father, my LORD, my God, my King, Author of all things, my Creator, the one who stands with me in the storms, my lighthouse when I can’t see my hand in front of my face, my eternal Friend, and my Captain. Who am I? Your devoted servant, son, and child of the most living God. Shine Your light through me so others can set their course safely toward You. In your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

