Shoes

(Scripture) Matthew 12:46-13:23Caliper
Matthew 12:12 (NLT) To those who are open to my teaching, more understanding will be given, and they will have an abundance of knowledge. But to those who are not listening, even what they have will be taken away from them.

(Observations)
1.  Jesus explained to His disciples why His teachings were like seeds scattered everywhere. Depending on the condition of the soil, how His teachings were received, will determine the amount of the harvest.

2. Jesus was a great teacher and successfully made a connection between the unfamiliar and the familiar

3. The reason why many do not understand, is a matter of choice not intelligence.

(Application)
The mechanic tried to explain what was wrong with my car. Clearly, he knew the inner complexities of my car and wanted me to understand.  He spoke of spindles, rotors, and calipers.  Which I naturally pictured as long thin pieces of wood on backs of chairs, the old rotary phones, and something that would later turn into a butterfly.  If could have also said, “Your brake shoes are much like basketball shoes when you are on the court.  When the soles wear out, you will not be able to stop.”

I am always trying to improve myself as a teacher. Clearly, Jesus serves as the best example.  However, like Jesus, I too can’t get someone to understand if they don’t listen and don’t want to learn.  Although I find it interesting, I have no desire to learn why some believe cows, prophets, crystals, and insects are gods, sacred, or holy. Perhaps, I just don’t want to take time away from the one true God.  It is not a lack of intelligence, it is choice.

Many scientists believe that we “just happened”, and calculated that it will take trillions of years for a protein molecule to form and that the universe is a few billion years old. Although I have difficulty in understanding why a protein molecule hasn’t formed yet, I found it easier to understand how God created everything in six days, sacrificed His Son to remove my sin, and wants more than anything to have a personal relationship with each of us.

I guess it is like shoes, if I lose my sole I will not be able to stand firm.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. I want to know you more. Forgive me when I do not put You first. Forgive me when I have more desire to learn something that is temporary rather than something that is permanent. Help me to be a better teacher and reflect you to the world. In your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

