Ps in a Pod

(Scripture)
4 ps in a podPeter 3: 7 (NLT) In the same way, you husbands must give honor to your wives. Treat her with understanding as you live together. She may be weaker than you are, but she is your equal partner in God’s gift of new life. If you don’t treat her as you should, your prayers will not be heard.

(Observations)

  1. “In the same way”, Peter paralleled what he just said about wives. Husbands too are to honor their wives. To Position them in a place of great importance.
  2. “May be weaker”; Peter meant physically, not intellectually or morally. An equal Partner. God made men physically stronger to Protect and Provide for their wives.
  3. (V. 8) “Finally”, or, “to summarize”, We are to have:
    1. One mind; same goal in life. (like “peas in a pod”)
    2. Sympathy, love, and tenderness; responsive to their needs and do not speak evil to each other.
    3. Prayer and worship together.

(Application)
A person I worked with asked me how long I had been married. After I told him, I quickly learned the reason for his question. He and his wife had decided to get a divorce and he wanted to know my thoughts on what makes a marriage last. As I listened, I prayed that God would provide me the right words. Clearly God had called me to give my testimony.

I assured him that I was far from an expert, and that my wife and I simply decided to place God at the center of our marriage. So when the storms came, which they have in every marriage, then we had a strong common anchor in God.

I shared how our “storms” caused us to grow closer to God and to each other, instead of growing and falling apart. We relied on our mutual relationship with God.  We grew toward that same goal, and that was to strengthen our personally relationships with God first. If we made money or anything else our god, then when it left, so would our marriage. Marriage is a covenant, not a contract.

God knew life  for us was going to be tough, so He gave me a Partner, not a maid. Like Adam and Eve, were equal partners. Since I prize every gift from God, I Positioned my wife so that she would always know how important she was to me. God gave me the responsibility to Protect and Provide for her too. Placing God first and my wife second, has made me a better husband to her.

Within our first few weeks of dating, my future wife shared with me 1 Corinthians 13: 1-13. If I we were to be together, we must first have like minds and hearts. That was about thirty years ago. We have been at each other’s side, through the good times, thin times, dark times, and times when all we could do was hold on to each other tight and pray.

(Prayer)
Father. Thank you for my wife. We are like peas in a pod, joined together in your name. Make me a better husband. In your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

