“Who’s Your Tailor?”

(Scripture)Bob's jersy
Colossians 3:14 (NLT) And the most important piece of clothing you must wear is love. Love is what binds us all together in perfect harmony.

(Observations)
Paul states how they, as Christians, represent Christ to the world. Paul supports this with an analogy of our clothes.

“Since God chose you”, Paul says, tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience are to be worn as our daily clothes. However, the piece that pulls our outfit all together, is the garment of love.

(Application)
Each year, in Hollywood, famous and talented people walk the red carpet. There are even “stars” who are “stars” for knowing “stars”. Everyone in the tabloids, and the world, seem to stop and examine what these elite are wearing and ask the all-important question, “Who’s their tailor?” or “Who are you wearing?” For some it is like Halloween; we humans go to great lengths to put on costumes and pretend to be someone else. However, it is clear that God has truly blessed many people with incredible artistic talents.

There are different types of clothes, from play clothes, Sunday clothes, to even hand-me-downs. With each type, I have learned how to behave. Play clothes, I learned be patient, wait my turn, to have mercy, and forgive when someone took my turn or cheated. When I wore my Sunday clothes, I went to church and learned what it meant to be gentle, kind, and loved. My hand-me-downs from big brother, left me both thankful and humble. However, as a child I had a favorite football jersey, number 12, Miami Dolphins quarterback Bob Griese. I was a big fan and wanted to play like him. Today, instead of number 12, I wear my cross I received on a Walk to Emmaus.

God tailored me to serve and love Him and all His children. The clothes I wear came from Him. While on earth, He exemplified tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. But the greatest of these, was His love which binds us together. I am a child of the Living God and I am a “star” for knowing the only true Star, Christ. When I go through this world, I want everyone to stop and ask, “Who’s his tailor and where can I find Him?”

(Prayer)
Loving Father and my personal Tailor, like Joseph and his coat, thank you for the spectacular clothes you passed on to me. Help me to reflect your love to the world. Lead me to those who I need and to those who need you in me. Do whatever you want with me. In your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

