Sticks and Stones?

Ephesians 4:17-31
Sky Guys: pride.

(Scripture)
Ephesians 4:29 (NLT) Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.

(Observations)

  1. Perhaps why he did not address any specific people at the start of his letter, was that he wanted this letter of encouragement to be passed around.
  2. Paul warns about living with the “hopelessly confused”, “close minded”, “full of darkness”, and “hardened hearts to God” people. Not that they may physically harm them, but that their unrestrained words will impede and stain our renewed hearts and minds.
  3. Once they learned about Christ, a spiritual renewal of thought and attitude occurred. A renewed nature and hence a renewed person now lived.
  4. A Christ lead person only reflects God’s love. We learned that we, like Christ, were not placed here for ourselves.

(Application)
“Sticks and stones my break my bones, but words will never harm me.” Really? I have seen the light flicker and go out of a child’s eyes when a person, who he loved and admired more than anything, verbally abused him. Although they too were verbally abused as a child, the adult did not filter his anger and words and damaged his most prized gift from God. The irreparable damage has been done, and there was no “rewind and delete” button on the memory. There is only a forward.

If a person’s angry words can be attributed to the consequence of a person’s lack of forgiveness, Ephesians 4:31-32, then what happened to their nonrenewal when they accepted Christ? Although I had accepted Christ many years ago, I too have been guilty of the deployment my irretrievable harmful words.

Upon reflection of the times I failed to demonstrate Christ’s renewal in me, I recognized it was also at these times when I also failed to remain in prayer and His Word. I realized that I still held resentment and lacked forgiveness. I discovered that Christ’s renewal in me was an ongoing development. It means to me that although I have a new life in Christ, I still have to live in a world of “hopelessly confused” nonbelievers.

(Prayer)
Loving Father, since I am your child, you are my perfect Dad. Like a perfect Dad, my prayer is that I may emulate your nature to the world of believers and nonbelievers. Give me the words to strengthen and encourage all your children. Please reflect yourself in me to the world. In your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

