Thank God, its Monday!

(Scripture)
Colossians 3: 23 (NLT) Work hard and cheerfully at whatever you do, as though you were working for the LORD rather than people.Mondays

(Observations)
1.  Paul speaks of our work here on earth as “whatever you do or say”. We are to fill our minds of heaven and our “real life” is hidden with Christ in God.

2. We are not to complain, quarrel, or slander anyone at work. We are to work hard and be cheerful. We are to be thankful for any work God calls us to do, no matter what it is.

3. We are to be cheerful for the opportunity God provides us each day. We have a responsibility to shine the talents and gifts He provided. It is His ministry, not ours.

(Application)
There came a time in my life when, instead of dread, I longed for a Monday. With applications with fourteen employment agencies and no hope in sight, I would have gladly accepted any job. I lost my confidence as a husband, dad, and man when I lost my job and could not support my family. I was fortunate to have short term jobs as a used car salesman, dental supply telemarketer, and life insurance agent. All of which did not provide enough for my family. We lost our house and later our apartment. Through it all, God kept His promise and met our needs.

While I served as an insurance agent, God shared with me His reason for my situation. I served my clients by meeting with them once a month to collect their premiums. One of my clients was a woman dying of cancer. I would always take time to sit and talk with her, mostly listen as she unfolded her life to me. The day finally came where I returned for the last time to drop off the woman’s death benefit check to her daughter. I introduced myself and my sympathies. Then the daughter’s eyes lit up as she said, “So you are Mark! My mom talked about you all the time and was so thankful for the time you took with her. Thank you!” Through my pain to support my family, came God’s promise to use me for His kingdom. To remind me He was still on His throne. It was never about me. No job was too small when you work for God. Thank God for all my Mondays.

(Prayer)
Loving and all-knowing God, thank you for every day you have a job for me. For each day’s opportunity to work for you. Give me the strength to work harder and the heart to do it cheerfully. Please continue to bless me indeed and guide me in your ways. Lead me to those who need you in me. Do with me what you want. I am yours. In your name I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

