Don’t Doubt It

Read: Genesis 3:1-24Faith and Doubt
(Scripture)
Gen 3:4 (NLT) “You won’t die!” the serpent hissed.

(Observations)
Satan’s four strategic lies are to get us to doubt:

  1. God’s goodness Gn 3:1-2. Satan said, “Did God really say you must not…?” In other words, “If God really loved you, He wouldn’t deny you anything…would He?”
  2. God’s truthfulness Gn 3:4, Satan contradicted God’s Word by saying, “you won’t die!”
  3. God’s righteousness, Gn 3:4. Satan said there would be no consequences to her disobedience. We learn in Gn 3:23 they were banished from the garden.
  4. God’s greatness/sovereignty, Gn 3:5. Satan made Eve suspicious of God’s motives. She believed God was less than great by withholding “knowledge”, the tree, when she could be “as God”. Many translations use the words “like God” or “as gods”.

(Application)
Many years ago I coached middle school football. There was one game that I will never forget. Our adversary, number one in our district, stopped every pass play and most of our run plays. However, each time we ran the ball up the middle, we gained five to eight yards. We finally put in our second team to keep the score down. The next day my concerned athletic director asked me why I called the same exact play four to five times in a row. All I could do was shake my head and reply, I learned their weakness and ran with it.

Satan knows my weaknesses and runs with them. He causes me to doubt God and myself. He blinds me with a fog of lies. He tells me that truth can be anything I want. He convinces me that I am too strong, smart, and talented to need God. Perhaps, the reason why the coach of “the best team” lost, was that he thought he was too good to be beaten by the same exact dumb play all night.

Satan’s tactics haven’t changed since the garden. He gets me to doubt. The word “Satan” means adversary. Many of the most “knowledgeable” people doubt the existence of God. The name of that tree was dead on. Like Adam and Eve, God gave me a choice. I look back at that game and how easy it was to beat “the best team”. That team failed when they were at their strongest. I know, Satan has beaten me the same dumb play over and over too.

(Prayer)
Loving Father, my Advocate against our adversary. I feel so foolish when the one trick loser gets me to doubt your goodness, truthfulness, righteousness, and sovereignty. Please forgive me. Every word in your book is true. Help me to learn more. The more I learn, I learn I need you more. Keep me from evil. Bless me more than I deserve. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

