Horses, No Tanks

ArmorRead: 2 Chronicles 14:1-16
(Scripture)
2 Chronicles 14:6 (NLT) During those peaceful years, he was able to build up the fortified cities throughout Judah. No one tried to make war against him at this time, for the LORD was giving him rest from his enemies.

(Observations)
Asa became king and ordered the people of Judah to seek the LORD, obey His law and commands. To eliminate the temptation of continuing to worship false gods, he removed pagan shrines and incense alters.

During peace time, “rest” provided by God, Asa fortified walls, towers, gates, and bars.

The word “rest” infers temporary. So the Ethiopians attacked Judah with one million men, and 300 chariots.

Asa, outnumbered about 3:1, called out and depended solely on God. So the LORD defeated the Ethiopians.

(Application)
Europe enjoyed about 25 years of peace afforded them after World War I by the Treaty of Versailles. In September 1939, Stalin’s Russia and Hitler’s Germany decided to divide up Poland. The Polish army launched their best attack on horseback against the German tanks. German tanks easily slaughtered the Polish army. During the time of peace, while Hitler fortified his German forces, many countries did not fortify their defenses. If we do not learn from history, it will repeat itself.

It’s not smart to wait until the enemy attacks to fortify yourself with God’s Word. In the good times, when God gave me rest from the enemy, I found it easy to become lazy and spiritually weak. It has been said, “There are no atheists in foxholes”. However to say, “There are no foxes in atheists-holes”, makes more sense to me. Like Asa, I need to fortify myself with God’s Word, prayer, and fellowship with my fellow Christians at all times. In short, to put on the full armor of God daily.

Since I will continue to fortify my relationship with God and obey Him, Satan will attack. His attacks seem to increase every time I agree to work a “Walk to Emmaus”. Like Asa, the best defense is to fortify myself in His Word and to be totally dependent upon God at all times.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Please bless me indeed with your peace, favor, and grace. Thank you for the rest you give me. Keep me out of the fight. Help me to always focus on a strong relationship with you. Help me to remain strong in your Word, prayer, and service at all times. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

