Pass the salt and cut the mustard

Read: Romans 6:1-23, 8:1-30, Mathew 5:13-16IMG_0453
(Scripture)
Rm 8:28 (NLT)And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them.

(Observations)
1. Paul described how Christ Jesus raised from the dead (Rm. 6:4), our sinful selves crucified  (Rm 6:6), so that sin will lose power over us. We must not let sin control our lives (Rm 6:12).  We must choose our Master, Christ or sin (Rm 6:16).

2. (Rm 8:28) Paul writes of the benefit of both loving God and answering His call.  Paul didn’t write, God will cause good for everyone whether or not we love Him and/or answer His call.

3. (Mt. 5:13, 14) Jesus says, referring to our purpose, we are the salt of the earth and the light of the world.

(Application)
There were two large corporations where one CEO was loved and the other despised. In both cases by workers who had never met their CEO. These workers’ only connection with their CEO was their sons. One son came to work pleasant and knew everyone by their first name and they knew him by his. He would get to work early and leave late. There was no job too big or too small. The other son came to work arrogant and complained that they were incompetent. He would arrive late and leave early. He bossed them around and did what he wanted to do. Which CEO would you like to get to know better? It is not enough just to love God; I must also serve as the salt of the earth, light of the world, and my life as His fragrance. I am who He says I am, thank God.

There is a Dorito’s commercial that really bothers me. The mother comes home with groceries and calls to her children, “Boys can I get some help?” Then one responded, “I don’t know, can you?” If I had responded to my mother that way, it would have been my first and last time. While growing up, the consequences of answering and not answering my parents calls were made clear. Then there came a time when my children waited patiently to receive their gifts while other children rudely demanded their gifts right away. Some children reflect their parents more than others. Ultimately, the choice to love God and answer His call will be theirs to make.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. It is only because of your love for me that I am able to be your salt, light, and fragrance. I love you. Command me LORD. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

