Time for Solid Food: Truth

Read: Hebrews 5:1-15

(Scripture)
Hbr. 5:12 (NLT) You have been believers so long now that you ought to be teaching others. Instead, you need someone to teach you again the basic things about God’s Word. You are like babies who need milk and cannot eat solid food.

(Observations)
1. Paul would like to tell them more, however, like children they lacked the depth of    understanding because they have not studied enough of God’s Word.
2. Hbr. 5:1-2 spoke of the roles of the human high priests and “their ability to deal gently with    the people”. Perhaps they wanted to return to Judaism where the human high priests took    the responsibility of studying and relaying the meaning of the scriptures.
3. A primary message of this letter was that Jesus is better, Christianity is superior, and Christ is    supreme and completely sufficient for salvation.

(Application)
Growing up my favorite movie was Wizard of Oz. As an adult, the scene that sticks out most was when Dorothy and her friends returned triumphantly to the Wizard to claim their agreed upon reward.   As they watched the spectacular light show generated by the Wizard, Dorothy’s dog Toto pulled back the curtain to reveal the real truth. Dorothy and her friends accepted the Wizard’s generated “truth” while overlooking the real truth which was just a man behind a curtain pulling levers and switches.

As a child, I accepted things as the truth based on what I was willing or able to accept, like Dorothy and her friends. I accepted as truth that clouds were made by special factories because I saw smoke coming out of a factory’s smokestack. How incredible would it be if my mom taught me this? Fortunately, my mom knew how clouds were formed and provided me an explanation which I understood.

Today it is difficult for me to grasp the idea how some see God as the Wizard of Oz. They pray for things and get angry when life doesn’t go as they requested. I know because I did the same thing for a long time. Likewise, if you are “good”, you go to heaven, or Kansas. It would be like going to a stranger’s funeral and expecting to be named in the will because you are a “good” person. Truth is not a feeling, it is Christ and His Word. I am gradually learning this through study, prayer, and my relationship with God while I grow up.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Thank you for the truth. Prepare me for more solid food so that I may grow up. Author my words so that they reflect you to the world. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

