Choose to trust the choice

piton(Scripture)
Habakkuk 3:19 [NLT] The Sovereign LORD is my strength! He will make me as surefooted as a deer and bring me safely over the mountains.

(Observations)
Habakkuk became frustrated by the unquenchable evil that seemed to thrive. The first chapter he asks “How long LORD, must I call for help?” The second chapter, God assures him that He is still in control and to be patient. His final chapter, is a prayer of victory.

Strength: Phl 4:13, Paul says, “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”

Mountain: Mark 11:23, Jesus says, “I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. But you must really believe it will happen and have no doubt in your heart.”

As surefooted as a deer: Having no doubt.

(Application)
My pastor, Steve, shared a time when he took his children repelling. Wearing safety harnesses, the Ranger instructed his children to first choose the right place to anchor their piton and then choose to trust the choice. A piton is essentially a nail placed in a rock to attach a rope, before you throw yourself off. Steve linked the fear of looking down that rock face to how we view our problems today. He continued, where to anchor our trust, focus our energy, can become our god. If we choose to anchor unwisely, although it is good, it will make a very poor god and will let us down hard.

Lately, Steve’s message has become more significant as I look down that rock face. Although I anchored my trust in God, my scary rock faces have been my job and finances. Satan hones in on my doubt with a lie that my problems have to be conquered within my own strength. When I do this, my mountain becomes so large that I lose sight of the Master Ranger.

Habakkuk, Paul’s message to Philippi, and Jesus statement to His disciples; all inform us that our strength comes from God. He has His reasons not to give me strength in all my endeavors. In essence, to get the most out of life, I choose Him to anchor my life, and then choose to trust that choice.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Help me to rely on you for my strength. If you are my rock, what should I fear? LORD help me to trust you completely. Lead me to those I need and to those who need you in me. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

