Seasons

(Scripture)
Ecclesiastes 3:1: (NLT) There is a time for everything, a season for every activity under heaven. John 14:16 (NLT) And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Counselor who will never leave you.

(Observations)IMG_0450
Solomon, through the wisdom provided by God, listed experiences that are appropriate at certain times of our lives. God has made everything beautiful for its own time and has planted eternity in our hearts.

Jesus informed His disciples that His time, His season, here on earth was coming to an end and that their season was about to begin. He assured them that all would be okay, another Counselor would be provided and remain with them always.

(Application)
God has blessed me with an incredible wife. Through our 28 years of marriage, we have seen seasons come and go. Times when all we could do was listen and cry. No words were enough to heal or remove the mourning season we had to endure. A dad’s death, a loss of a dream, or loss of a job have been just that, seasons. Seasons that provide us opportunity to display and grow our faith. James 1:2 instructs us to consider all trials as joy. Nevertheless, even the words of James 1:2 held no comfort while in my darkest seasons. The only thing I could do was endure.

The good news is, Jesus sent His Counselor who will never leave us. He is always less than a prayer away. When loved ones struggle to say and do all they can to ease our pain, there will only be one who always remains. He wants us to call on Him, to rest in Him, and put our full weight down upon Him. He is our Counselor, our refuge, and our savior.

There is really no correct way to endure our dark seasons, except for the One. To call on our Counselor first. To lose ourselves in prayer and His word. To seek out fellow Christians so we may grow, accept, and discover a joy in places we never thought possible.

My favorite seasons were marked by a baby looking up at me. Completely reliant on me for everything. A season where we shared an unconditional love second only to Jesus’ love for us. Although I miss those glorious seasons, I know there will be more. My Counselor has been with me on the shore and in the storms.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Thank you for my seasons of growth. Lead me to those I need and to those who need you in me. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

