Too Many Warriors

(Scripture)IMG_0445
Judges 7:2 (NLT) The LORD said to Gideon, “You have too many warriors with you. If I let all of you fight the Midianites, the Isreaelites will boast to me that they saved themselves by their own strength”.
(Observations)
God reduced Gideon’s army from 30,000 to 300. God removed the timid and foolish, leaving only the true warriors and those ready for battle.The LORD said, “If I let all of you…”   In short, nothing happens unless God permits it.The Isrealites pulled every man with a pulse together to win this battle. God saw their vast measure to generate overwhelming forces. They wanted to boast to God they didn’t need Him.
(Application)
Recently I prayed that the battle set before me would have been finished before I arrived. I imaged myself with the full armor of God and fearlessly marching onto the battlefield only to find Jesus with my enemies scattered at His feet. I imagined Jesus then saying to me, Mark I started without you.Do I prepare for my battles with too many warriors? Are my warriors the sleepless nights, the pacing of the floor, worry, mental anguish, the careful calculated words, and the fighting of battles in my head? If these are my warriors, then they reveal my fear and foolishness. In my mind I have equipped myself for every conceivable scenario and outcome, leaving me exhausted instead of strengthened.However, when I sit, rest, pray, and lose myself in His word. He enfolds me in His loving peaceful arms. He makes me rest in green pastures, leads me beside still waters, and He renews my strength. When I walk through the valley of death, I am not afraid. I recognize His rod and staff and I can walk onto the battlefield with courage.

Being a Christian is a way of life and not a destination. It is my profession and I work for God.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. You have gone on before me and prepared a feast for me in the presences of my enemies. Please forgive me with I prepare for battle with too many of my warriors. I put my full weight upon you. Calm the storm in and around me. Fight my battles for me, I can’t do it. I surrender all. Lead me to those who I need and to those who need you in me. Do with me what you want, I am yours. In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

