“Who Touched Me?”

(Scripture)
Luke 8:44 (NLT) “She came up behind Jesus and touched the fringe of His robe. Immediately, the bleeding stopped. [Also found Mt 9:20 and Mk 5:27]
Sermon Spice: Where are you? In the crowd or wheelbarrow?
(Observation)
The woman had been bleeding for twelve years and spent all her money on doctors, yet made no request of Jesus. Unlike Jairus who begged Jesus to come and heal his dying twelve your old girl.Jesus was surrounded with many pressed up against Him, but only one truly trusted Him.

Did Jesus ask who touched Him to get the women to publicly tell her testimony? However, later told the parents of the healed twelve year old girl not to tell anyone what happened.

Jesus told the woman that her faith had made her well and told Jairus not to be afraid and to trust Him.

(Application)
When my children were little, I had a magic trick that astounded them. I would have them pick a card, place it on top of the deck, and close their eyes. With their eyes closed, I quickly looked at the card. Then I asked them to open their eyes while I closed mine and pretended to go into a trance. I would carry on and make a show as I miraculously told them their card’s identity. My children were completely amazed. Why wouldn’t they think I could do magic too? I was their dad who could do anything. They knew I would never fool them. They trusted me.Jesus’ robe was not magical and the woman trusted him. She reached out unafraid, trusted Jesus, and was healed. There is a big difference between going to church with the crowd and truly reaching out to trust Jesus. No one else in the crowd was changed by touching Jesus. Why was that?

It is not easy to be unafraid and trust Him, especially when the storms of life rage about me. Regretfully, it isn’t until I have come to the end of my rope, when I claim His promise that He will never desert me.

The devil told Eve a lie, Gn 3:1, to get her to doubt God’s goodness. The woman did not doubt God’s goodness yet the man needed to be reassured not to be afraid and trust. Which one am I?

(Prayer)
Loving Father. You reached out to me first. I am now reaching out to you because I desire a personal relationship with you. I no longer want to be one in the crowd. I want to be more like this woman, unafraid, and trust you. In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

