Truth and Grace over Time

Emmaus 77
(Scripture)

Luke 13:8 (NLT) “The gardener answered. ‘Give it one more chance. Leave it another year, and I’ll give it special attention and plenty of fertilizer.’
(Observations)
Pilate just murdered people who were sacrificing at the Temple in Jerusalem. Jesus’ parable used a fig tree to illustrate the need to repent.Jesus uses the fig tree, Mk. 13:28, Mt 24:32, to illustrate how we may recognize signs of His second coming. Mt. 21:20, He made a fig tree wither because it did not bear fruit.

Lk 13, is the only time Jesus does not destroy the fig tree as evidence of His patience. Moreover, He gives us more time to provide the special attention needed for growth.

(Application)
When my daughter was little, she and her best buddy would laugh and sing for hours songs from Sponge Bob. If they were not singing, they were quoting Sponge Bob dialogue with uncanny accurate mimicking inflections. It was remarkable how she knew so many episodes word for word, but when asked what three times five was, she was unclear. I guess we all excel at things we provide special attention too.It was remarkable that a man of my age and wisdom did the same thing. I would spend hours studying to earn my degrees, but if asked about my Savior Jesus, I was oblivious. God doesn’t care about what I know about Science or Sponge Bob, He wants me to know more about Him.

For the past few years, my walk with Christ has profoundly improved by studying His word. I laugh and cry as I literally loose myself in His word. He has given me uncharacteristic insights when I provide special attention to study and prayer. I learned to be patient with myself and realized that growth will take time and effort.

From this scripture, I am the gardener that must provide special attention through studying the truth, acknowledge His grace to feed my growth, the fertilizer, so that I may grow toward the Son from year to year.

(Prayer)
Loving Father, author of all things, including these SOAP journals. Thank you for always spending special time with me as I study the truth in your word and in prayer. Make these words that reach others come only from you and change peoples’ lives forever. Lead me to those I need and to those who need you in me. Change me with your word, your truth, your grace, and take your time. Do whatever you want. In your name I pray, Amen.
Image | This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

