What is “Good”?

(Scripture)
Matthew 26:10 (NLT) But Jesus replied, “Why berate her for doing such a good thing to me?”

(Observations)
• Mt. 19 tells the story of the rich young man who asks Jesus what “good things” he must do to have eternal life. Mk 10 and Lk 18 states the young rich man asked the same question but called Jesus “Good teacher”. Jesus responds with “Only God is truly good”. The young man refused to surrender all and follow Jesus.

• Mt 25, Jesus spoke of the final judgment where the shepherd will separate the sheep (righteous) from the goats. The righteous are those who feed the hungry, clothed the naked, cared for the sick, and visited those in prison. Jesus said in v40, “When you did it to one of the least of these, you were doing it to me!” Jesus “taught” this to His disciples’ right before supper when the disciples berated the woman for pouring an expensive perfume over Jesus head.(Mt 26:9)

• Jesus did not call the woman “good” but what she did was a “good thing”.

• Out of unconditional love, both the woman and Jesus surrendered all and pronounced their complete sacrifice at suppers.

(Application)
I recall searching the crowd for my Dad. He always came to my games even though I rarely played. The coach made me sit the bench and gave my sweat uniform to others so they could warm up with the team. It didn’t matter, my dad skipped supper and traveled over icy roads to come see me.

One evening as we walked to the bus after a game, a light snow started coming down. My dad was standing near the bus. Imagining his disappointment, I went over to apologize for causing him come out to see me sit the bench. He saw the disappointment I had in myself. He said, “I will always be proud of you, whether you are the star or you sit the bench. I love you, Son. See you at home.”

It is Christ in us which enables us to do good things. “To the least of these, you do unto me” and “Only God is good” now resound in my thoughts as I endeavor to be a dad, a man, who does “good”.

(Prayer)
Good Father. I want to surrender all. Forgive me when I, like the disciples, listen to your message about serving the least of these and then not follow your teachings. I love you. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

