Just a Coincidence, my eye


(Scripture)
Psalm 22:1-18
Ps 22:1 (NLT) “My God, my God! Why have you forsaken me?”
(Observations)
David’s account of how his enemies treated him provided an accurate description of Jesus crucifixion hundreds of years later. Coincidence?

  1.   Ps 22:1 & Mt. 27:46: “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”
  2.   Ps 22:3 & Mt 27:42: “So he is the king of Israel”
  3.   Ps 22:7 & Mk 15:29, Mt 27:39: “Shaking their heads in mockery”
  4.   Ps 22:8 & Mt 27:43: He trusted God, let God show his approval by delivering him!”
  5.   Ps 22:9 & Jn 19:26: “Woman, he is your son”
  6.   Ps 22:14 & Jn 19:34: “…pierced his side with a spear, and blood and water flowed out.”
  7.   Ps 22:15 & Jn 19:28: “I am thirsty”
  8.   Ps 22:16 & Mt 27:35: pierced hands and feet, “…they had nailed him to the cross…”
  9.   Ps 22:14,17 & Jn 19:36: “Not one his bones will be broken”
  10. Ps 22:18 & Mt 27:36: “…gambles for his clothes by throwing dice.”
(Application)
Joseph Figlock was walking underneath an apartment building window when a baby fell out. “Luckily” Mr. Figlock caught the baby. Exactly a year later, out of the same window, the same baby fell out again onto Mr. Figlock who caught him again.President’s son, Robert Todd Lincoln, was waiting on a narrow crowded platform for a train when he lost his footing and fell beneath a moving carriage. He was pulled to safety by Edwin Booth the brother of John Wilkes Booth.

Why is it so easy to believe in “coincidences” and not in the bible? Satin got Eve to doubt God’s word. Faith is for the believer. The word coincidence is used when Satin tries to get us to doubt God’s word. I stop believing in luck when I accepted Christ. From evidence found in His word and my relationship with Him, I have learned that nothing happens without His permission. The bible is either all true or Satin was right in Gn 3:4.

A poor farm boy saves a nobleman’s son. Out of appreciation, the nobleman finances the poor farm boy’s education. Years later the nobleman’s son is saved by a vaccine discovered by the poor farm boy. The men were Alexander Fleming and Winston Churchill. Coincidence or prevenient grace?

(Prayer)
Loving Father.  When others see a coincidence, I see your loving, guiding, and protective hand. Thank  you for your prevenient grace. Please forgive me when I doubt. I know In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

