Losing Myself in Study

(Scripture)
2 John 1:9 (NLT) For if you wander beyond the teaching of Christ, you will not have fellowship with God. But if you continue in the teaching of Christ, you will have fellowship with both the Father and the Son.
(Observations)
1. The “teachings of Christ”, as stated by Christ in Mat 13:12, “To those who are open to my teaching, more understanding will be given, and they will have an abundance of knowledge. But to those who are not listening, even what they have will be taken away from them.” By remaining in the “teachings of Christ” we will have a direct relationship with Him through the Holy Spirit. Transversely, the less we “listen”   then confusion will inherently occur preventing even the basic of   understandings.2. Every translation seems to follow a simple truth; it is best to follow, abide, and not deviate from Christ teachings.
(Application)
The bible has been burned, shredded, misquoted, defamed, banned,   and even urinated upon; however, it has never been ignored.  Why is that? A highly educated doctor of theology once stated that the bible was full of contradictions and to rely on  this document with too much authority was foolish. Recently, I heard a prized  theological historian state that the word “virgin”, when referring to the virgin birth of Jesus, was a mistranslation.A close friendship of mine in college was strained after my friend informed me that man created God once he failed to understand natural environmental events. His degree was in history and theology where he earned straight “As” in everything. He was finishing his degree at the top of his class, while I was just starting at the bottom of mine. Despite his scholarly pursuits and successes, he never referenced the teachings of Christ with me. Why is that?

Not being a “highly educated theologian”, I am left with studying His word, praying, learning from a Christ centered pastor, and attending a Christ and bible centered church. With my relationship with Him, I listen quietly and grow in what He tells me. There is an indescribable closeness and satisfaction which inevitably brings me to my knees every time I lose myself in His word, pray, journal, and spend quiet time with the author of all things. As for me, the teachings of Christ are sufficient. Why is that?

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Thank you for the joy which can only come from knowing you personally. Teach me your ways so that I may abide in you. In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

