Solid food found on solid ground

(Scripture)
Hebrews 5:12 (NLT) You have been believers so long now that you ought to be teaching others. Instead, you need someone to teach you again the basic things about God’s word. You are like babies who need milk and cannot eat solid food.
(Observations)
1. Paul would like to tell them more, however, like children they lack the   depth of understanding because they have not studied His word.2. Hbr. 5:1-2 spoke of the roles of the human high priests and “their ability to deal gently with the people”. Perhaps they wanted to return to Judaism where the human high priests took the responsibility of   studying and relaying the meaning of the scriptures.

3.  A primary message of this letter to the Hebrew Christians, possibly second generation, is that Jesus is better, Christianity is superior, and Christ is supreme and completely sufficient for salvation.

(Application)
I am to worship both in Spirit and Truth and not be like the Hebrew   Christians. Jesus said, in Jn 4:23, “But the time is coming, indeed it’s here  now, when true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth. The Father is looking for those who will worship him that way.” He is not physical limited to one place. We don’t have to find Him behind temple curtains or from behind church doors. The Holy Spirit prays for me (Rom 8:26) and helps me pray. The Holy Spirit teaches me the words of Christ (Jn14:26).God fills me with His Spirit when I worship and sing His praises. Growing up in the “church in the wildwood”, old hymns still pop into my head out of the blue. Is it easier to worship in Spirit, than in Truth? Taking time to really get to know Him through His word is a battle. Christ is the Truth (Jn14:6) and my solid food on solid ground.

Studying His Word and journaling has brought me closer to Christ. His Word has filled me with immeasurable joy. He engages me, speaks to me, and sparks my interest to want to know Him more. My greatest joy does not come from singing songs, but from my one on one time with Him in prayer and in His word.

(Prayer)
Loving Father. Thank you for filling me up with your Spirit when I study your  word. Your word has brought me even closer to you. Command me Lord, put me in your service. I want spread your Good News. Give me solid food. You are my solid rock in which I stand. In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

