Your Words

(Scripture)
Philemon 1:3 (NLT) Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God.
(Observations)
1. Paul also wrote in Col 1:3 We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God the Father of our LORD Jesus Christ.; 1 Thes 1:2 We always thank God for all of you and pray for you constantly.; 2 Thes 1:3 Dear brothers and sisters, we always thank God for you.2. When Paul wrote his letters, many times he started out by saying, “I am thinking of you”, “I pray for you”, “I long to be with you”, “I thank God for you”.  He wanted them to know how much he loved and longed to be with them.

3. Paul’s letters to Philippi and Colosse were written while he was in prison in Rome and 1 and 2 Thes were written about 10 years earlier.

4. Paul could have written a memo saying, “Sorry, too busy preaching to write”. Or, “Poor me, in prison, big problems, ttfn. (Tata for now)”.

(Application)
How can my words be used to reach out and show God’s love? When I buy a card, send an email, or make a call, do I put as much of God’s love into it as Paul did in his letters? At times I can be impersonal and display a lack of personal  investment of emotions and commitment. If I am to be God’s messenger, then I  must speak from where He lives; my heart. When I look for a card, how long do I look for one that shares the same love and commitment that God has so generously shown me? Has text messaging made it easier for us to share our feelings without “becoming emotionally involved”?Ironically, Paul wrote many of his letters while in prison. When my dad was in the hospital for the last time, I had an opportunity to visit with him one last time. The first thing he said, while in his suffering, was, “How are  you?” He never complained, instead he told us each nurse’s name and where they grew up. He knew it was all about God and not himself.
(Prayer)
Loving Father. Just wanted to tell you again that I was thinking of you today, I love you, thank you for my life, and I long to be with you.  LORD help me to let others know how much you love them. Make it obvious to everyone that every  word written or spoken by me actually came from you. Help me to use words to help others and not myself. Do with me what you want. In your name I pray,   Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

