All I know is that I am not home yet.

SCRIPTURE:
Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NLT) God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end.
OBSERVATIONS:
1. Solomon was near the end of his life. He revealed that wisdom can get you   almost anything, even save your life. He pointed out how we can be deceived by the futility of this world, which the foolish value and pursue. It is because of our humanity we are incapable to grasping God’s overall purpose.2. However, we were truly made in God’s image. God planted in our hearts a thirst for eternity, a longing for a perfect home. With God’s breath of life, He shared with us an eternal value unlike any other life He created. This is why nothing on earth, except our eternal Father, can truly satisfy us. God made us restless for a home beyond this fleeting world.3. God created us to shine here for only a brief time. Perhaps that was what Solomon meant when he wrote God made everything beautiful for its own time. He never intended us to stay here. He too longs to see us at home.
APPLICATION:
My daughter spent some time in one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Rome Italy. The art, food, language, culture, and architecture are incredible. So where the people, according to my daughter. They were loving and considerate to everyone. Yet, although she was surrounded by all this beauty, she longed to be home. While visiting on Skype, my heart broke when I saw in my daughter’s eyes filled with tears of homesickness. She wanted to come home early.Imagine, in one of the most incredible places in the world, and she preferred to be home with those she loved. Much like here on earth, we have an innate eternal search for a permanent place that completes us. To be home where we share a common bond of love.
PRAYER:
Loving Father. All I know is that I am not home yet. This is not where I
belong. Take this world and give me Jesus. You did not create me to stay here. I long to hear you say; “I know you, enter good and faithful servant”. I long to see my dad, sister, and brother again too. Until then, guide, protect and bless me and my family. Shine your light in and through me so that others will want more of you. In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

