Study Less More

SCRIPTURE:
1 Corinthians 8: 2 (NLT) Anyone who claims to know all the answers doesn’t really know very much.
OBSERVATION:
1. The young church in Corinth, composed largely of Gentiles, was surrounded by a community still focused on idolatry and immorality. The church was fixated on their strong belief about eating meat  sacrificed to idols.2. Paul understood  that it would take love to bring the church together.  It would take following God’s greatest commandment to build the church.

3. Paul was well educated and realized knowledge was helpful. However, seeking only knowledge may cause people to become arrogant, self-reliant, and isolated. A church is a group of Christians in fellowship and is not a college.

APPPLICATION:
“They don’t care how much you know, they want to know how much you care.” An experienced teacher shared this basic fact with me many years ago. This truism has always served me as a teacher as well as a Christian. This axiom has helped me focus on what was truly important.

 My children did not need  a lecture when they came to me in tears. They didn’t need to hear “I told you so”. They needed to hear “I love you so”. My children could care less even if I were another Einstein. They needed me to follow God’s greatest command.

My greatest desire for my children has been that they love God and belong to a bible based Christ centered church. I have   finally learned that I can give them directions, but I can’t be there to lead   them anymore. I can give them love, but I can’t force them to accept it. I   can teach them the facts of life, but I can’t make their choices for them. I  can pray for them, but I can’t make them walk with Christ. I can tell them about God, but I can’t make them believe.  All I can do is show them the love of Christ in me and never give up on my greatest desire for them.

PRAYER:
Loving Father. I want to know more about you and your word. Please forgive me   when I focus more on the meaning of your words than on your message in your  word. I want to “study less better”.  If  life is like a relay race, then guide my steps alongside my children before I hand off. I pray they have learned more from the love I showed than from my words. Please fill me with your desires so that others will see your work and  not me. In your name I pray, Amen.
This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

