See you at home

SOAP Journaling

SCRIPTURE:
Romans 8:15 (NLT) So you should not be like cowering, fearful slaves. You should behave instead like God’s very own children, adopted into His family – calling him “Father, dear Father”.

OBERVATIONS:
1. Paul defined “children” as “all who are led by the Spirit of God”, v:14.
2. Paul uses adoption to illustrate the results of being a child of God. The adopted child/Christian:
• gains the same rights and love as all His children.
• gains instant brothers and sisters who were once strangers.
• becomes a full heir to the father’s estate.
• is given the opportunity to call Him, “Father”.
• is no longer a slave but has a new identity.

APPLICATION:
A couple of months before my dad’s death, he had an opportunity to read an Upper Room article which I wrote. Not being a literary masterpiece didn’t stop him from showing it off. It was entitled, “See you at home”. When my dad adopted me, I gained a great brother, sister, aunts and uncles too. Adoption, like becoming a Christian, is gaining an unearned instant family. Below was the article.

On the day my mother accepted his proposal, my future stepfather crouched down to ask my brother and me if we wanted to call him “Dad” or “Jim”. We immediately chose to call him Dad. Either way, we would come to see that the commitment he made to us was like the unconditional commitment God made to us.

In junior-high basketball, I searched the crowd for Dad. He always came to my games even though I rarely played. Afterward, he would wait to talk to me before I got on the bus. Dad saw how disappointed I was in myself. His words have stayed with me: “I will always be proud of you, whether you are the star or you sit the bench. I love you, Son. See you at home.”

Isn’t that something like what our heavenly Father says to us? In Christ, God crouched down and offered us a chance to call him “Father,” not because of what we do but because of who God is and wants to be in our lives. Because Dad followed Christ, I have seen Christ’s light. The true light comes only from God, and I want to show my children that light. I want to tell others about Christ.

I look forward to the day when I will see my Father at home.

PRAYER:
Loving Father. Thank you for asking me to call you Father and for Paul’s illustration of your perfect invitation. In your name I pray, Amen.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: New Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

