What are you doing here?

1 Kings 19: 9 (NIV) There he came to a cave where he spent the night. But the LORD said to him, “What are you doing here Elijah?”

Escaping to pray, to read His word, and to journal my thoughts and feeling with God is my Mt. Sinai. Like Elijah, I need a quiet place to refocus with God. Perhaps, one reason God permits storms in our lives is convince us that we still need Him. He also provides a reason to retreat, for a brief time, and reconnect with Him. All He really wants with us is a relationship. My daily retreat is to journal as I read His word and spend time on my knees in prayer.

While struggling to find a position where God was leading me; I felt beaten by rejections. I questioned the path God had me on. Then there were the financial storms which threatened to put me on the rocks. While sitting next to a pond God asked me, “What are you doing here?” His powerful message came in a whisper next to a tranquil pond. With my distractions removed, I was able to slow down to reflect on His call for my life, listen to Him, and accept His peace.

Unlike Elijah, I do not feel like I am the last one to believe in God. I am blessed with a Christian wife, family, and church brothers and sisters. Someday I will only exist among Christians and Christ when He calls me home.

Jesus separated Himself to a quiet place to pray, however, He never stayed there. I thank God for His mountaintop experiences as well as His presence in the toughs of my storms.

This entry was posted in SOAP Journaling, SOAP: Old Testiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

